Jump to content

Photo

Maximum strings length ?


23 replies to this topic

#1 Gwendolyne

Gwendolyne
  • Members
  • 216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 20 January 2018 - 11:54 PM

Very often, too long strings used in kits or spells descriptions result in a CTD when creating a new character.

 

Does anyone know which maximum length the Engine accepts? For kits, it seems to be around 4 000...

 

thanks.


CARPE DIEM...



In progress : Menace sur le Royaume de Diamant Éternel

#2 Avenger

Avenger
  • Modders
  • 3803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:01 AM

This is the first time i hear about this. Is this a problem in all engines? 



#3 Gwendolyne

Gwendolyne
  • Members
  • 216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:22 AM

BG2 for sure.

It happened many times with mod translations into foreign languages (kits mods - the last one in date is Kit Revisions - and the BG2 Fixpack Find Familiar spell).


CARPE DIEM...



In progress : Menace sur le Royaume de Diamant Éternel

#4 CamDawg

CamDawg

    ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 9723 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:40 AM

Yeah, I was about to mention that. Fixpack had a crash because the German translation of the Find Familiar spell description was too long.

Why is this Hypnotoad video so popu... ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD.


#5 Avenger

Avenger
  • Modders
  • 3803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:44 AM

I just tried this in the EE, the kit description string was longer than 6000. No crash in chargen.



#6 CamDawg

CamDawg

    ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 9723 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 21 January 2018 - 08:50 AM

Taimon claims the limit is 4112 here:
http://gibberlings3....showtopic=15391

Why is this Hypnotoad video so popu... ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD.


#7 Cahir

Cahir
  • Members
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 21 January 2018 - 09:03 AM

Yeah, Argent77 and I have encountered this issue when I translated his Improved Archer Kit to Polish. I've had to shorten vanilla BG2 description to avoid those crashes. I remember Argent managed to calculate exactly how many characters can I use to escape CTD's (but I dont't remember the numbers, I'm afraid). This issue is not present in EE's cause the character limit is high enough for even longer descriptions.
Then they summoned me over to join in with them
To the dance of the dead
Into the circle of fire I followed them
Into the middle I was led

#8 lynx

lynx
  • Modders
  • 3139 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ljubljana, Slovenija

Posted 21 January 2018 - 09:12 AM

Happened all the time during development of Kit revisions too.


GemRB - IE anywhere.
Mages needed! Looking for Planescape: Torment testers
Play android version IS NOT SUPPORTED ANYMORE: reported bugs will be ignored! Still looking for builders ...


#9 Gwendolyne

Gwendolyne
  • Members
  • 216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 21 January 2018 - 11:04 AM

Taimon claims the limit is 4112 here:
http://gibberlings3....showtopic=15391

 

Thanks for the spell description limit. ;)

 

Yeah, Argent77 and I have encountered this issue when I translated his Improved Archer Kit to Polish. I've had to shorten vanilla BG2 description to avoid those crashes. I remember Argent managed to calculate exactly how many characters can I use to escape CTD's (but I dont't remember the numbers, I'm afraid). This issue is not present in EE's cause the character limit is high enough for even longer descriptions.

 

That would be cool Argent77 released this kit length limit.


CARPE DIEM...



In progress : Menace sur le Royaume de Diamant Éternel

#10 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6778 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 21 January 2018 - 11:17 PM

I would also advice that people would try to keep the max description limit to 4000 characters, this is because any REPLACE_TEXTUALLY is likely going to take about that 112 characters in addition to the original. Now of course how one actually exceeds 4000 characters in desribing a kit is ... lets say, a little lunatic to say the least.
Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#11 Gwendolyne

Gwendolyne
  • Members
  • 216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 22 January 2018 - 03:18 AM

I can understand the first part of your message (REPLACE_TEXTUALLY), but you should learn foreign languages (French or German for example) to understand than translating a simple sentence from English may cause what we are talking about.

 

"Don't blame me!" (15) --> "Ne me rends pas responsable !" (29) : double length for a simple string. ;)


CARPE DIEM...



In progress : Menace sur le Royaume de Diamant Éternel

#12 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6778 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 22 January 2018 - 04:47 AM

but you should learn foreign languages

Yeah, too bad I mostly use Finnish ... it's not like that's a Foreign language to me, and I can't use English, so. And I suck at Swedish. Notice the hint of irony in that.
And are you so sure that's not more like: "Don't make me the responsible !"(31), cause that's what it looks very much alike. There's a complete difference in the meaning, though.
Cause "blame" is generally translate as: blâmer. Not that I am going to teach how to speak your own language, but there's a difference in where we look at the language, and I am pretty sure the English, German and French have far more in common that say Finnish. "Äl myä' syy-ä!".

But back to your point, I do understand that it might take nearly twice the string length to convey the same meaning. But there's also skill in saying what is actually meant vs how it's exactly produced.
Aka, a kit description is the KITs description, not the spells it comes associated with, how it's alike but not exactly same as a cat, and how that cat looks cute with its toe in the water.

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 22 January 2018 - 05:44 AM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#13 Gwendolyne

Gwendolyne
  • Members
  • 216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 22 January 2018 - 06:28 AM

I used this example on purpose. In French, to blame can be translated into many ways, according to the context : blâmer, accuser, réprimer, rendre responsable...!

 

And it is the same with many english words because English is an easier language. And I won't mention grammatical rules, or IE tokens that don't work in French (<HIMHER>, <HISHER>, <LADYLORD>, <RACE>...) and need to be translated differently, increasing the length strings... Fortunately, dialogues strings are not that long. ;)

 

The problem for translators appears mostly when it comes to translate new or modified kits [Undead Hunter (13) --> Chasseur de morts-vivants (25)]. I asked for the limit because the French translation for Kits Revision can't be installed and we need to shorten a few kits and classes descriptions, therefore, decide which parts must be shortened, or worst, deleted. Which is not the best choice, but...


Edited by Gwendolyne, 22 January 2018 - 06:31 AM.

CARPE DIEM...



In progress : Menace sur le Royaume de Diamant Éternel

#14 Cahir

Cahir
  • Members
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 22 January 2018 - 08:20 AM

Gwendolyne, I have searched for our PM conversation with Argent77 regarding our issues with Improved Archer kit and it seems that he was able to estimate the total length of a kit description for BG2 vanilla as 4150 bytes. Hope it helps.
Then they summoned me over to join in with them
To the dance of the dead
Into the circle of fire I followed them
Into the middle I was led

#15 Roxanne

Roxanne

    Modder

  • Modders
  • 2041 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Auckland, NZ

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:26 AM

Gwendolyne, I have searched for our PM conversation with Argent77 regarding our issues with Improved Archer kit and it seems that he was able to estimate the total length of a kit description for BG2 vanilla as 4150 bytes. Hope it helps.

I am no programmer but 4096 is one of those magic numbers, right?


The Sandrah Saga!

another piece of *buggy, cheesy, unbalanced junk*

 

 

 




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users