Default difficulty under GemRB? (IWD2)

PracticalKat

I started playing IWD2 under GemRB, and the game was difficult even at the default (midway) setting. I failed to load the savegames after reloading IWD2, so I replayed the Prologue on Easy under PlayOnLinux to get it over with. That was using a default party (Winter Rose), tweaked a bit to be more powerful.

Now I've started again with a 4-person party, on the hardest setting, and it's a breeze in the first part of the Prologue. I have two questions:

1. Does GemRB implement a more difficult setting (Heart of Fury?) by default? Under GemRB, the goblin caves in the Prologue took multiple days of resting to complete, as I needed all the Sleep spells I could get. Even so I also needed to use plenty of burning oil pots to do enough damage.

2. How would I implement Heart of Fury mode under Play On Linux? This link says it is possible: https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=4644&iTestingId=32363

EDIT: 2 can be solved by running PlayOnLinux, Configure (for IWD2), then on the General tab select Run Configuration Wizard under IWD2 Specific Configuration panel.

the hardest setting is beyond the difficulty slider. I'm not completely sure it means hof mode, but do check you have Nightmare mode=0 in your gem-icewind.ini . You could tell if you're in hof by the type of staff Phaen drops if xp, hp and saving throws are not indicative enough (we could also be missing extra logic there).

Yeah, you still can't, though we are closer to that goal now. I do most of my testing with the armor rebalancing tweak, so everyone gets some damage resistance and I don't have to bother that much with keeping them alive.

Was looking at the wrong file before, under ./PlayOnLinux. The gem-icewind.ini file had the setting you suggested.