I might have found a way how to create a monk multi-class

ProudCzech

Hi guys, I need your help with something.

I'm quite new to modding, but I've slowly learned that "hardcoded" classes cannot be much edited or multi-classed, because our hands are tied by rules of Infinity Engine.

Even if we adjust the 2DA files, the main point of these classes can't be transferred to another class.

I said trasferred?

I tried to "transfer" monk abilities to my Fighter/Mage/Thief character and I succeed! At least it looked like it...

I created a spell which permanently polymorphed my character to Balthazar (BALTH.CRE). The appearance was changed and I got some of his stats and abilities. Especially "the monk fist" worked just like I was really a monk!

Naturally, there were bugs. Two-handed weapons had wrong animations, every other polymorph spell worked permanent, you couldn't cast any wizard or priest spell and so on. But I'd found at least a theoretical way how to remove these bugs, so I continued testing it.

----

That time I thought that I obtained "the monk fist" because the Balthazar (BALTH.CRE) was a monk. So, I created another CRE file with monk class and appearance, but it had my own stats and colors. I set it as the model for the polymorph spell and it worked just fine.

But I didn't obtain "the monk fist"! Not only the animation, but also the damage and speed of this attack were gone!

You can try it yourself, but doesn't it mean that there is something else in BALTH.CRE file which allows you to obtain "the monk fist"? Like some imitable affects? Well, I didn't find these, but you can try it yourself...

----

What I really want to ask is about "imitating" the monk class.

If you are a fighter, you should be adjustable to monk trough affects. I bet the real monk is hardcoded in that way. (The important affects are hidden just like the affects transfered to you through polymorph).