How to make an NPC if you are a NOOB.

Okay well here is an updated version of my NPC tutorial. This is all well and fine, but if you would like it in an easier to read format, please download the PDF below.

Microsoft_Word___How_To_Make_An_NPC_If_You_Are_A_N00B.pdf

How To Make An NPC If You Are A N00B

By: theacefes bohdi2185@msn.com

Version 2

After realizing that I haven’t edited this in forever, I decided to write an updated version of my NPC tutorial . The purpose of this tutorial is not to teach people how to write and code an entire mod, but how to get a very basic NPC into the game.

So, without further delay, I present to you: Version 2!

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

1. INTRODUCTION

2. THE DIALOGUE

3. THE CRE

4. THE AREA FILE

5. THE TP2 and finishing up

1. INTRODUCTION

While there are other NPC tutorials out there, I feel that this one is very clear and easy to understand for the total noob (and yes, we were all noobs once). This tutorial will go through how to make an introduction dialogue, a creature file, an area file, and a TP2 file. I've gathered a list of terms that you many or may not have known before, but you will see them over and over if you decide to go into modding.

Common Terms:

PC- the character that you are playing as (player character)

NPC- any character in the game that is not you. ex: Jaheira and Imoen, and this character you are about to make. (Non-player character)

Dialogue: the actual conversations between PCs and NPCs, or NPCs and NPCs.

Script: the code that tells the game what to do (ex: where to move

characters, what conversation to start, when to start a quest, etc)

WeiDU: the program that allows mods to be compiled and installed

into BG2.

TP2: the file that lists all the parts of the mod that will be

installed so that WeiDU knows what to install.

Here are some of the programs you will want to have/download if you want to continue with this tutorial:

1. Some sort of text editor (Notepad, ConTEXT, etc)