Vanilla bug in weapon paperdoll animations?

I have studied on how BG2 handles application of colour to the weapon animations within paperdoll, and noticed something weird. I have assigned 3 different colours for locations 16, 20 & 21 of my axe under opcode 7 for test purposes and went on to check it in game. First thing I saw was that item equipped to the main hand had only 2 colours applied, ones set for locations 16 & 20. Much to my surprise when equipped to the off hand it got back its 3 colours including the one assigned to location 21.

Here's an illustration: 16 is green, 20 is yellow and 21 is red.

whgGPuG.jpg

First I thought that I erred somewhere because I'm totally new to graphics of the game, but eventually I found out that it's actually weapon animations template of the vanilla BG2 are broken. While some animations (sword, halberd, dagger and so on) have all 3 locations correctly colour-coded in, some (main hand axe, main hand flail and main hand mace) are bugged in that they all have location 21 colour coded as location 16. The reason I'm sure this is bug, apart from it's visual obviousness, is that off-hand animations of the same weapon colour codes all 3 locations correctly. Admittedly, there's only a handful vanilla item suffering from that bug because most of vanilla axes, maces and flails are having same colours for locations 16 and 21 lazily assigned to them, but vanilla ax1h02, ax1h03, ax1h07 and ax1h14 are all its victims, not to mention it harms modding.

With that said, what do you folks think:

- is that a real issue or I missed something and see bug where there's none?

- if yes, is it fixpack worthy?

and a bonus question:

- what is the difference between quadruples of files like wphaxinv.bam, wplaxinv.bam, wpmaxinv.bam, wpsaxinv.bam, are they all used in some cases by the game or some are redundant?

Edited by Creepin

Is this in the vanilla BG2:TOB ? Or in the ... EE, asking only because there could be difference. Or not.