Jump to content

Photo

MoveBetweenAreasEffect()


9 replies to this topic

#1 Salk

Salk
  • Modders
  • 2954 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 13 January 2018 - 02:35 AM

Hello!

It seems that this action is converted automatically into MoveBetweenAreas()?

 

Has anyone ever tried it?

 

When I tried this:

MoveBetweenAreasEffect("AR8200","SPDIMNDR",[47.1098],10)

I get

MoveBetweenAreas("AR8200",[47.1098],10)

Even if I use NI and compile it there, I get no errors or warning but after loading the file, I see the same behavior.

 

Thanks!


Edited by Salk, 13 January 2018 - 02:48 AM.


#2 argent77

argent77
  • Modders
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 January 2018 - 02:53 AM

Both MoveBetweenAreasEffect() and MoveBetweenAreas() share the same action ID. However, NI should not ignore the second string parameter if it exists. I'll look into it.



#3 Salk

Salk
  • Modders
  • 2954 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 13 January 2018 - 03:00 AM

Funnily enough, the in game action works as intended and SPDIMNDR is played correctly...



#4 argent77

argent77
  • Modders
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 January 2018 - 03:53 AM

The problem lies in the decompile operation (BCS back to source) where NI appears to discard the second string argument. So this will only be a real issue if you decompile and compile the script without adding the second string argument again.



#5 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 13 January 2018 - 04:22 AM

@Salk:

The problem lies in the decompile operation (BCS back to source) where NI appears to discard the second string argument.

And the reason for that is that the action.ids has the two identifiers for the one action number... but that matters not much as you will be compiling the script with weidu either way ... in todays moding. Like argent77 implied, you would need to recompile the script in NI for it to make anything bad to happen. 


Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 13 January 2018 - 04:24 AM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#6 Salk

Salk
  • Modders
  • 2954 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 13 January 2018 - 04:57 AM

Okay but it's still a bug with NI then...?



#7 argent77

argent77
  • Modders
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 January 2018 - 09:42 AM

Fixing this issue in NI is tricky. For now I will only apply a hack to make it work, which will have some (harmless) side effects.

A more thorough approach would require a rewrite of major portions of the script decompiler. I might do that at a later date when I have more time.
 



#8 Avenger

Avenger
  • Modders
  • 3800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 14 January 2018 - 07:11 AM

Try to swap the 2 aliases in action.ids - i don't promise it will work, i don't know how NI works.



#9 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 14 January 2018 - 09:48 AM

Try to swap the 2 aliases in action.ids - i don't promise it will work, i don't know how NI works.

Yeah, but then this action:
MoveBetweenAreas("AR8200",[47.1098],10)

will compile as:
MoveBetweenAreasEffect("AR8200","",[47.1098],10)

And I don't know if the game will appreciates that(aka keeps working as if the change was not made). As don't you... or you wouldn't be saying the later part. :D

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 14 January 2018 - 09:49 AM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#10 Avenger

Avenger
  • Modders
  • 3800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 14 January 2018 - 01:00 PM

The game wouldn't care. 





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users