Installation on mac OSX

bootsy

Hello, I'm new to trying to mod games. I recently got ID2 when I saw it on GOG, and would love to try out some mods (namely this one).

However I'm totally lost as to where to put what files; I tried dropping them into the override folder, but the party and imports aren't showing up in the game when I run it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Bootsy,

To start, unpack the mod .rar archive (if you don't have a program that can handle .rar files, I recommend Unarchiver from the Mac App Store). Copy the extracted files to the drive_c\GOG Games\Icewind Dale II folder inside the IWD2 app package (you can find it by right-clicking on the Icewind Dale 2 app and selecting "Show Package Contents").

Next, you need to update some of the files that come with the mod.

The version of sox in the IWD2NPC folder is for PowerPCs, not modern Intel macs. Download an current version of sox here:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/sox/files/sox/14.4.1/sox-14.4.1-macosx.zip/download

Unzip the archive and copy the file "sox" from there to the IWD2NPC folder that you copied to drive_c\GOG Games\Icewind Dale II.

Also, you may need to update your copy of WeiDU for OSX. You can get that here:

http://www.weidu.org/~thebigg/WeiDU-Mac-236.zip

Unzip the archive and go into the "WeiDU-Mac/bin/x86-64" folder to get the WeiDU program. If you have OSX 10.9 (Mavericks), use the "weidu+mavericks" file, if you have OSX 10.6-10.8 (Snow Leopard, Lion, or Mountain Lion), use the "weidu+snowleopard" file. Copy the program file to the drive_c\GOG Games\Icewind Dale II folder inside the app package. Now, move the file "setup-IWD2NPC" to the trash (not the file with the .TP2 extension!) and rename the weidu program you copied "setup-IWD2NPC".