Jump to content

Photo

I can't get the mod working properly


17 replies to this topic

#1 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 07:48 PM

Hey everyone.  First, i must say english is not my first language, so i might explain thing with wrong words or terms.

 

I succesfully installed the widescreen mod for he gog version of BG2 and ToB, and I tried to play in differents resolutions.  The best one is 640 * 482; i don't mind playing with that resolution (and it's full screen).  The only thing is that i can scroll the map down.  It work when I want to move the camera left, right and up, but it just don't work when i tried it down.

 

The reasons i don't play in 1920 * 1080, is that it's very too small on the screen, and i get bored after 5 minutes.  I tried differents resolutions, but some of them gave me large black border (was not full screen), like 800 * 600.

 

So yeah, help?!

 

Thanks.



#2 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 16 April 2015 - 08:29 PM

What kind of screen device do you have ? The reason why some of the resolutions can give black borders is that the screen goes to a setting that it likes, and the games adjusts to it. You can use any of the standard resolutions settings with the mod(without much of a black borders), so not only 1920 * 1080, but
1280x800
1440x900
1680x1050
1920x1200
2560x1600*
If you have a screen with Width to Height ratio of 16:10, and the monitor can show that* much, if it's less then you just need to select the smaller ones, and it's likely that you should.

If it's 16:9,
The resolutions are:
1280x720
1360x768
1600x900
1920x1080
2048x1152
2560x1440*

So I would try this for example:
1360x768

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 16 April 2015 - 08:31 PM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#3 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 16 April 2015 - 08:49 PM

That's the wide of the balck border I got.  I can't get full screen with 1280 * 720.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1280.jpg
  • 2.png


#4 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 16 April 2015 - 11:06 PM

Yes, that's just a part of the Graphical User Interface, you need to go into the game to actually experience the full effects of the mod. As said in the readme. Or would you like graphically pretty neon green color instead of the black ? See the game has no other art assets that fit into those screens, so the mod didn't alter them, except that it just centered the art with black borders.

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 16 April 2015 - 11:13 PM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#5 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 17 April 2015 - 12:57 AM

Yeah, but into the game, the black borders are there.  I can't take a screenshot of it (idk why), but I keep getting the black borders when i'm playing, as show in my previous post.  It's not full screen.  The only full screen I get is when I set the resolution in 640 * 482 (but there's a bug with the down movement) or with the 1920 * 1080 (and I don't like this resolution...)



#6 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 17 April 2015 - 05:30 AM

What kind of screen device do you have ?

Tell me the exact model so I can look it up etc.

And by the way, when I say into the game, the main screen is this:
359506-bgs2_002.jpg
Not the inventory or other screens...
 
To show the point I am trying to make, I'll show a comparison from 800x600 to 1920x1200.
Yes the start screen gets surrounded by black borders:
2m81s3m.jpg
14cegid.jpg
But that's not the main screen you'll be playing the game at, it's this:
2pozi53.jpg
5orz4i.jpg

PS, just so you know, the cost of this post was a 2 839 990 148 bytes wasted...

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 17 April 2015 - 08:23 AM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#7 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 17 April 2015 - 11:08 AM

I don't know exactly what to tell you about my screen device, but i'll try to give you the best i can.  I have a laptop, so that I can't tell you much more about my screen device.

 

Once again, I KNOW the black borders should be gone once into the game, but they are there, I can't have a '' fullscreen effect ''.

 

I don't know why, but I cannot upload anymore files here...  So there you go : http://imgur.com/a/DTZ42  I know it's in french, but you'll get the idea.



#8 Tash

Tash
  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 17 April 2015 - 11:35 AM

It could be your graphics card driver settings. I'm not sure how it works with NVIDIA Control Panel, but there's got to be a tab there somewhere for scaling options. You'll just have to change the setting from "keep aspect ratio" or "center the image" to something like "stretch the image" or "full screen."

 

There are some issues with certain cards, drivers and/or connections, so this doesn't always help. I have an AMD card and a 1080p monitor (DVI -> HDMI), and for some reason I can only get full screen with my native resolution and 1280x720; all the other resolutions result in a centered image with black borders regardless of my driver settings. This can be solved by disabling hardware acceleration in the Config program, but it may lead to artifacts or performance drops.



#9 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 17 April 2015 - 11:39 AM

I don't know exactly what to tell you about my screen device, but i'll try to give you the best i can.  I have a laptop...

The laptops screen is part of the laptop, so just give the Laptops designation.
I have an old Toshiba Satellite C870-1HG for example, the designation is likely to be viewable at the bottom of the device.
The forum doesn't like a too many file formats, but you can go around that by saving them as .jpg's, and uploading them to a site like the one you used, and then right clicking and using the Copy Image Location  and putting it to a img tags, so looking your picture, the code becomes this:

[img=http://i.imgur.com/H1v8XDt.jpg]

H1v8XDt.jpg


Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#10 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 17 April 2015 - 12:33 PM

My computer is a Asus ROG g750jx



#11 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 April 2015 - 04:58 PM

When I put the resolution in 800 * 600, I get that.  The fullscreen option in the game is off, but when it's on, the image is the same size and I get black borders all around (instead of the page of the forum)...

 

Is it normal?  If so, I got no problem with the mod...

 

http://imgur.com/OEg7P1H


Edited by MorphineSyringe, 18 April 2015 - 04:58 PM.


#12 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 18 April 2015 - 06:28 PM

That phase of the game doesn't actually matter as it's not part of the games main interface like shown above. Now, if it looks like this in the full screen mode, in the main interface, instead of what I posted in the third post of mine:

sghhxi.jpg

Then your Graphical Card is likely set to not extend the image properly(see the Tash's post), which can be fixed with a setting up a game specific profile in the NVIDIA Control Panel GeForce Experience -program. Or just using more general settings... EDIT plah plah plah.


Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 18 April 2015 - 08:00 PM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#13 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 April 2015 - 06:55 PM

Yeah, it's exactly that.  Can you direct me to the good forum post?  (I'll try to look for it, but I just want to be sure it's the good one).  AND THANK YOU for you help and support, I REALLY appreciate it!



#14 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Modders
  • 6786 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 18 April 2015 - 07:45 PM

This one is for every game:

 

Right click on your desktop. Start the NVIDIA Control Panel. Go to the "Desktop size and position options", it should have a Scaling tab, pick the "Aspect Ration" -option. 

s5y90m.jpg

And if that doesn't fix it, try the others. :p

 

The game specific options are available NVIDIA GeForce Experience, but usually this general settings should do fine, unless you already know what you are after.

And you, an everyone else is more than welcome to my help. Just trying to sub for the Widescreen mod forum moderators. :devlook:


Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 18 April 2015 - 08:07 PM.

Welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand.
Here's how to install all the ... mods you ever really could want to Infinity Engine games. I removed the stable word from there as Roxanne began to add BS mods that are likely to break compatibility from the BWS.

#15 MorphineSyringe

MorphineSyringe
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 April 2015 - 08:12 PM

IT'S WORKING, THANK YOU SO FUCKING MUCH!





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users